Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Knitting passionately
6 janvier 2008

Happy New year 2008 !

Hiya and have a pleasant and fun filled year (meaning knit lots of quality and fashionable garments and accessories) 2008...

So, sorry I disappeared for a few days weeks. Now, geographicaly since the last post:

Last week of work in Spain where I "celebrated" my birthday on the 20th... Now here's a great story: when I was in school in France, alot of the christmas dinners were on my birthday and that sort of made me feel special (for no known reason, I know it wasn't a birthday do for me!!!) and compensated for having to compete with xmas for birthday teas, outings even gifts... So anyway, I get to the spanish company on the 20th and get put in a meeting room that's been booked for the whole day so I can "hang out" there. So, the guys disappear at 11:00, one had to go pick something up for his kid, the other had another meeting etc... all logical reasons to leave the room. So I sift through my top favorite knitting blogs (oh, please don't tell my boss what I really use my internet connection for... of course it's only for googleing the cost of wool steel on the stock exchange), and realise it's ten past one (they usually eat at one in Spain)... I put my rising panic in check, no worries someone's on their way to come get me for lunch. Then, I realise people are coming back in great groups from lunch and realise again that this is their last day at work, they have the Friday off for starting the christmas holidays. So, I sigh and resign to eating an apple (stolen from the hotel breakfast table) and waiting the lunch break out... so, bad thing was a long shot from the school xmas dinners but good thing got to catch up on knitting world instead of getting lost in a world of stainless steel testing!

Then got back from Spain to repack for GB. Got on the Eurostar on the 22nd morning real early and spent xmas with the British side of the family. Everyone seems to be doing fine, and the socks knitted for the occasion seemed to have been appreciated... they have to wear them for a proper amount of time to be sure and test them in shoes... Just my aunt's socks, a big oops! I had to give her just one gift wrapped and then take it back so it could serve as model for where to start the toe shaping!!! She didn't seem to mind though :-)

Here is the pair of socks for my Aunt as you have not seen them finished yet (unless you lurk on Ravelry)

DSCF0925

I had a great time in GB, went shopping for all things impossible to find in France. Ate baked beans a couple of times. When I got of the Eurostar in London (new station at St Pancras really sparkles), I got a sandwich from a famous brand name and it was like coming home, all the childhood memories. You can buy soft bread in France, you can buy ham in France, and cheese and all the other ingredients but it just doesn't taste the same as in GB. Brought back some chocolate... and some books (duh stupid, why carry around heavy paper when there are people who's job it is to send you books to your home for cheaper than a store bought book?).

Before leaving GB, I cast this on:

DSCF0933

Yup, you guessed, it's a sock ! OK, more seriously, the same as my Aunt's above but in Ruby Slipper from Jon's Easy Knits. Needles : 2,5mm
I'm actually past the gusset and into straight forward foot at the moment I write. Should be finished by this evening.
Oh and yeah, it's not for me but can't leak out any info just yet....

So, from GB, I flew to Slovakia (yes for pleasure!) to celebrate the coming of 2008. I was put up by friend's and it was definately celebrated the slovak way (I'm sure you can all imagine what that involves...).

And then I flew back home accompanied by my germy cold... which has progressed to the coughing fit in shops stage... yu know the ones where you get hot and red in the face but can't get rid of the tickling in your throat and don't have any water in handbag... and everyone looks at you with pity and disgust, the disgust being the emotion which translates the "I don't want to catch that" whereas when you're at coughing stage you're clearly on the mend already... pfff that got me a bit worked up ! ;-)

The shop episode happened yesterday when I went out to get a few things. The food I won't tell you about, nothing exotic about that, but the yarn I will:

DSCF0928

This is a ball of wool from Monoprix called Flamme Bayadere in the Perroquet colourway. It is 100% wool and I am hoping it will be transformed into appropriate handles for my snoozing French Market Bag:

DSCF0799

I don't know what it will look like but I'm thinking of embroidering a flower in the handle yarn on the sides of the bag to make sure it all matches... umm maybe I need more thinking time on this one?!

Then I visited LYS, but it was closed and I couldn't make my mind up :
A/ Closed for lunch and lunch break runs until after 14:15
B/ Closed for xmas holidays, opens on Tuesday again
C/ Closed down .... naaahhh, they have all the naw yarns and lots of stock
Thought I might pop back or phone to see but forgot about all of that once I got back to my warm home and took off my shoes... see about that on Tuesday evening
I was going there to buy the yarn for the January mystery sock (Ravelry), it really needs 2 contrasting solid colours and I only have variegated in stash (sigh, beautiful variegated sock yarn) so it's going to set me back on the Sockdown but anyway as long as I cast on before 31st Jan, I'm ok.

I also went to local game shop and of course they're fresh out of Nintendo DS Lite's. Had to check just in case though... Mario and Brain Train call out to me... after a whole year of resisting, I'm about to cave in.

Tomorrow I was supposed to fly off to Spain (the same factory that doesn't feed you!!) but boss said "No, you're not going. There's not enough work to justify the trip" I smiled, no beamed at him for that comment!!!
Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, Not packing a suitcase tonight, !!!!!

So, if no packing, more progress on red socks.... ta da!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
et bin euh quelle aventure..j'ai retenu qu'il y a eu ton annif...alors bon annif...et surtout bonne annee...et tout plein de belles cho7!!
Knitting passionately
Publicité
Publicité