Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Knitting passionately
16 mars 2009

Knit-a-square

I came across a Ravelry group the other day. It's called Knit-a-Square.

The people behind the organisation are asking for volontiers to knit 20*20 cm squares in any pattern to send to Africa to be sewn into blankets for children.
One of the requests is that the squares be in anything but acrylic as this fibre melts and really burns the skin if subjected to fire. These kids apparently use an open fire, so not a good idea.

I sorted through my left-over yarns and I came up with the sock yarns which are 100% wool (does not burn, singes with contact to flame but as soon as you take away the flame the burning stops).

I thought this would be a great idea to help the children out, use up the left-over sock yarns which I keep because I'm a keeper but not because I have any specific project in mind, and gives me the opportunity to practice some cables/stitch patterns I've never done before.

This is the start of the first square, started last Sunday:

DSCF2060

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
oh dommage que dans le noir on va pas assez les torsades...mais j'aime beaucoup cette idee multi colore...
Knitting passionately
Publicité
Publicité