Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Knitting passionately
30 septembre 2007

Socks, I'm in a sock mood !

This could be overwhelming for day number one but here you are : I'm in a sock mood, I think sock, I breath sock, I dream sock... but I haven't started knitting them yet and I'm not even sure I have the right needles.

To be honnest, I only have one sock to my name and I'm not even putting a photo of that just yet! It was a marathon 'cos I got the heel wrong had to "frog it" as the american/canadiens say (I would say I had to undo it and start again!) and it's still without twin sock !!!

So, on Thursday, I went to Paris for a job interview (which went well, yeah!) and the trains times were not adapted so I ended up with a few hours on my hands especially as the train goes really fast now : we got the TGV in Reims now and Paris is only 45mins away with more comfort and less noise. I got there fresh as a rose instead of fed up and with a headache. Anyway back to my free time : I spent it going to 2 yarn shops. And here is what I bought :

DSCF0748

The round ones come from shop n°2 : they are self patterning sock yarns in several colourways 80% wool and the rest polyamide. I'm looking forward to this fun knitting and fearing starting the second sock 'cos I don't know how to match up the patterns so both socks are the same! They need 3,5mm needles and those I have, so these will be knit first.

The oblong one came from the first shop I went to and I have 10 balls of this one 'cos the guy sells them in wholesale quantities, well, it seems like it when you're looking for sock yarn but for a pullover it's ok to buy 10 at a time! These need 6mm needles and I only have 5mm so maybe I'll do a few rows and see if I like it. With the rest, I might try to knit this. It will depend on how the knit looks.

But I must finish the beige gipsy first--- staying power, staying power! Do you think, if I repeat this enough, I'll actually obey myself ?!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Knitting passionately
Publicité
Publicité